Intro - Mateusz

This Archive will be used for Future Soldiers and Civilian Introductions 6 months old and older

Moderator: Site Admin

Go_Placidly
Embryo

Intro - Mateusz

Post by Go_Placidly »

Hello Rangers and forum-members,

My name is Mateusz, and my first thank you has to go out to "anonymous" for posting a comment on http://www.ehow.com/tips_10846.html. That was what led me to this site.

About me:
I'm 22 years old, graduated with a B.S. in Environmental Engineering from Columbia University (SEAS) in '08, and have been working as a "junior remediation scientist" (unofficial engineer) for an environmental consulting company for 6 months now. I am Polish, and speak it fluently. I also have a good base in French, which I studied in MS and HS. I was born in France as my parents were attempting to gain a visa for the US. When that was denied, we moved to to Calgary, Canada, a year later, where I grew up for the next 5 years. Since then, my home has been the suburbs of Philadelphia. In early winter '08, my family and I became citizens (who knows how many members there are in the house of representatives?).

Last summer was when I first began researching service as a post-college option. I even went so far as to take a practice ASVAB at their office (scored a 98 i think). My parents are both scientists, but the Polish history I grew up around, and the stories I heard from grandparents and others, planted a military seed in me which has been growing for years. For many years I was also a Polish boyscout which ingrained me with a love of the outdoors, team coordination, and a ranked system of leadership. But now to the heart of the matter...

Why an Army Ranger?