Guam DEP-per intro

This Archive will be used for posts 6 months old and older

Moderator: Site Admin

32Swordsman
US Navy Veteran

Guam DEP-per intro

Post by 32Swordsman »

Hey Y'all!
I found this site while trying to educate myself further before taking that big leap. I'm pretty psyched and can't wait for what might just be the adventure of a lifetime.
I am a 32-year-old, prior U.S. Navy aviation machinist mate that worked on F-14 Tomcats with the VF-32 Swordsmen with two deployments aboard U.S.S. Theodore Roosevelt and U.S.S. Enterprise from '95-'99. I got out, went back to college, and graduated in '03 with a degree in communication-cum laude. I worked as a photojournalist for the Pacific Daily News (A Gannett paper) for roughly 3 years as an intern, freelancer, and finally as a staff member. I currently work as a photographer and aide to the Lieutenant Governor of Guam.
After weighing on the decision to join in on the fight on the GWOT for the last 6 years, I finally decided to at least join our local Guard unit and go infantry. They were doing deployments to Africa at the time, and it sounded like a good way to continue to serve the people of my island, and to also serve my country again. After a couple of months of tossing it around and working to get back into shape, I did some thinking and decided, screw it. The government is always going to be here, my family and friends will always be here, but there is something bigger than me going on in the world right now-so I took all of my paperwork from the Guard and strolled down to the active army recruiter.