StackedRacked, freshly commissioned

Commo from our members who are in OSUT, Jump School, RIP, Ranger School, etc.
SRR2R
Tadpole

StackedRacked, freshly commissioned

Post by SRR2R »

Rangers and other board members,

It is with respect and great excitement that I can report that, last night, I received my commission as a 2LT in the United States Army. I'm currently in my second year of medical school at Pikeville College School of Osteopathic Medicine; I applied for, and received, the Health Services Professionals Scholarship (HSPS). My decision was a little later in the game than some, so it was a rush to push all the paperwork through, and a process that can normally take months was fortunately completed in under two. I'm grateful to my recruiter for that.

To summarize the HSPS, the remainder of my schooling will be funded by the Army. I will do one 6-week rotation at an Army hospital during my 3rd or 4th year of school. Upon graduation, I will attend OBC, complete my residency training with the Army, and will go on to practice at least four years in the Army.

Although I have accomplished virtually nothing in the Army world, I'm very pleased with my decision, and humbled at the opportunity to serve my country. I look forward to training and practicing military medicine. As I have no prior military experience, I'm counting on the lessons I have and will continue to learn on this site to prevent me from stepping on my dick once I graduate and enter the Army world as an officer. In terms of serving one's country, the path I chose pales in comparison of the young men getting shot at in the desert while taking the fight to the enemies of this nation. They deserve most ultimate respect in their enduring sacrifices and adversity.

Respectfully,
"Every man thinks meanly of himself for not having been a soldier..." - Samuel Johnson

From the days of John the Baptist until now the kingdom of heaven suffers violence, and violent men take it by force.
-Matthew 11:12