Introduction & Question: ArmyNurse-RangerWife

This Archive will be used for posts 6 months old and older

Moderator: Site Admin

AirborneNurse-RangerWife
Embryo

Introduction & Question: ArmyNurse-RangerWife

Post by AirborneNurse-RangerWife »

Hello! I've been enjoying reading through your forums and thought I would join the cool kid club. You all are a very knowledgeable (and entertaining) bunch! I'm a new 2LT Army Nurse, awaiting my AMEDD OBLC date. Graduated Airborne class D 34-05 as an ROTC cadet. My husband is currently in the Florida phase of Ranger school... looks like he's got about 2 weeks of training left. Haven't heard from him in awhile, but the last letter was all good news.

I'm sure someone out there can answer a few questions I have. I am currently planning a surprise trip out to Benning to see my husband graduate from Ranger school, and drive across country together. Upon graduation, my husband will be deemed a "Leg Ranger". On top of that, I'm sure having an Airborne Hooah Hooah wife will add to the misery! Haha.

The question is:
Is it typically easy for someone to walk (or limp) out of Ranger school, and get an Airborne slot right away? For all you Rangers... would you have been physcially and mentally ready for jump school right after Ranger school? Or would you be more interested in looking at your feet with no socks on, and eating everything in the refrigerator? :D

If not, what are the chances that his unit will send him later? We'll be stationed OCONUS, so we won't be near Benning again any time soon. If he has a good chance to get an Airborne slot right out of Ranger school, I would cancel my trip plans so he can get his wings.

Any advice or Info would be great! Thanks in advance!
QtMedic4Life
US Navy Vet / US Army Reserves

Post by QtMedic4Life »