My Introduction

This Archive will be used for Future Soldiers and Civilian Introductions 6 months old and older

Moderator: Site Admin

JamesQ
Egg

My Introduction

Post by JamesQ »

First, I'd like to say thank you to all of the current and past military personnel on this site for the protection you provide for me and my family. Me, my wife, and my kids owe you all a huge debt that there is no way for us to ever repay. You have my sincerist thanks and deepest respect.

My name is James, I'm 29 years old and I work as a technical architect for a large telecommunications company. I've spent the last 8 years of my life doing this and basically helping a greedy corporation make more money. After 9/11 I did what a lot of people did and started to question what really matters. I found out what I do now, does not (but right not it's a means to an ends to feed my family). Shortly after 9/11 I went back to school with a direction towards going to medical school, but it's not what I want to do. I come from a military family. My father, his father, uncles, cousins... just not me. After high school I went to college on an athletic scholarship. If it weren't for that, I probably would have been in the army. It's a piece of me that is missing. It's really hard to explain. I hope that this is a mistake that I can correct, but I worry that it's not.

I want to serve my country by becoming a Ranger. Anything worth doing, is worth doing well, so I want to set my goals high. I need to stop spinning my wheels and do something that matters. What you guys do... matters.

I have been an athlete most of my life, but I fear that my age now works against me. I've looked for age related information and all that I've found is a range of 17 - 34 for the army (here and other sites).