Option 40....Prior Service or not?

IF you are a Ranger or are serving/have served in the Armed Forces, please include your dates of service, unit(s) and additional info. Please protect your privacy by not including full names and current personal information.

Moderator: Site Admin

Forum rules
IF you are a Ranger or are serving/have served in the Armed Forces, please include your dates of service, unit(s) and additional info. Please protect your privacy by not including full names and current personal information.
Musashistudent3108
Embryo

Option 40....Prior Service or not?

Post by Musashistudent3108 »

I realize this is probably beating a dead horse by now, but I haven't seen this covered anywhere else.

I am an Officer in the Guard. I came out of a MJC so I am not fully commissioned yet, I hold a commission in the Army National Guard as a 2LT ( I drill with a unit, and work as a PL, but I can't get promoted, attend OBC, attend special schools or deploy, it sucks) Because the Guard won't send me to any kind of schools I am not DMOSQ for anything.

Over my year long stay at this unit, I got a chance to think long and hard about where I wanted my military career to go.I decided to resign.

So I started calling recruiters, and I have managed to find a recruiter that might give me an option 40 ( i have to wait until the rollover into the next FY in order to get Infantry). He says that getting me an option 40 contract shouldn't be a problem as long as I can be a little flexible on the MOS (13F, 68W, etc)

The trouble is I have been in the Guard for almost four years between a little bit of enlisted time, SMP, and commissioning. The recruiter says I am going to have to go in as prior service, how is this going to effect me getting into the Regiment? I have seen it posted here that a lot of people are having issues getting option 40 contracts due to being prior service, but I am a little fuzzy as to why that is? Should I REALLY be considered prior service?