Introduction - Andrew

This Archive will be used for Future Soldiers and Civilian Introductions 6 months old and older

Moderator: Site Admin

Unicorn
Future Soldier

Introduction - Andrew

Post by Unicorn »

Hello everyone,

My name is Andrew and I am 18. I have been coming back to this site for well over a year now, reading as much as I can. After a long and boring process, I finally swore in as an 11x in July, so I figured it was time to introduce myself. I am a high school graduate from the Twin Cities whose sole purpose to join the Army is to become an Airborne Ranger. Unfortunately, at the time of my enlistment there were no 11x's with option 40, or even option 4. Actually, there weren't even any Infantry slots open for all of 2012-2013. I stayed put at MEPs for awhile while my recruiter pulled some strings. He ended up calling his Sergeant Major, who was able to get me my contract. I am very thankful.

I work at the local GMC dealership detailing cars full time. However, I have put in my two week notice because it is conflicting with me preparing for the Army, which is much more important to me than 9 dollars an hour.

During my advanced individual training during OSUT, I will do what I can to volunteer for Airborne school, and at Airborne, volunteer for RASP. I understand there is a chance I won't be able to attend both, but nonetheless, I will still be the best soldier I can be.

I'd just like to add, a couple of weeks ago I volunteered to work at the Minnesota State Fair (which is awesome btw) with the recruiters from my office and some other DEPer's to help with the Army recruit and represent itself. While there, I actually got the chance to meet and talk to a Ranger Captain, and a Brigadier General. Both highly respectable men who I'd take orders from any day.