INTRODUCTION - Brian

This Archive will be used for Future Soldiers and Civilian Introductions 6 months old and older

Moderator: Site Admin

Kamikaze10
Future Soldier / Opt40

INTRODUCTION - Brian

Post by Kamikaze10 »

Hello Rangers!

My name is Brian. I am 23 and a recent graduate of The Ohio State University in Geography. I initially looked at joining the Army back when I graduated high school, but after talking it over with my parents I felt that I wasn't mentally mature enough to handle the strictness and stress of that lifestyle. I went to college and worked on obtaining my B.S. instead.

Around September 2011 I again started looking at a military career. I felt I had a better understanding of both myself and military life based on what I had seen of campus ROTC and read online, and to be honest the idea of working behind a computer or desk for the rest of my life just didn't sound appealing to me. I began to do research into all of the branches just so I didn't miss anything, but eventually I decided that what I wanted was to serve my country on the front lines as a soldier. This decided, I began to look at the Army and Marines for possible MOS, as well as talk to people in my classes or near my home who either served or had served in either branch. After a lot of researching - and even more soul searching - I decided the Rangers was what I wanted.

Around April my schedule cleared up enough to speak to a recruiter about joining, but I had heard that contracts were hard to come by and wasn't expecting much. I still intended to join, but should Opt40 not be available then I would go Opt4 and bust my butt in OSUT in hopes of getting an chance. Imagine my surprise once my ASVAB scores came back to find that there was an Opt40 available. I requested it immediately and got my MEPS date within a few days. By Thursday of that week I walked away with my contract and a ship date of Nov 6.