Prior Service, TADpole...

This Archive will be used for posts 6 months old and older

Moderator: Site Admin

HeavyT
US Navy

Prior Service, TADpole...

Post by HeavyT »

This is going to be long so I apologize in advance. I’ve been in the Navy for 3 years now. I joined to be a member of the SWCC (Special Warfare Combatant-Craft Crewmen, now Special Warfare Boat Operator) teams. Long story short they cheated me out of it in boot camp while I was TADpoleing (working, PTing, doing bitch jobs for SEALs and SWCCs) saying because of my rate I was ineligible for BCT and CQT. So rather then have me sign new orders and get a new rate to where I could keep SWCC I was made to drop SWCC and keep my rate. So I came to the fleet and though I have had some great experiences and have learned a lot, I always wanted more. So the next 2 years I worked out and did my job never losing sight of my dream of Special Warfare after being here 2 years I got the balls enough to go over to the NSW compound on base and let them know of my intentions. And so for the past year now I have been PTing exclusively with SEALs and SWCCs in their TADpole program. I’m qualified for diving duty as per my BUDs physical, I have taken the Navy's PST with the following results:

Push-ups -112
Sit-ups - 87
Dead hang pull-ups - 23
500-meter sidestroke swim - 10.34
Mile and a half run, boots and trousers - 9.45

I even got a recommendation letter for the NSW motivators themselves. So after my chain of command loses my request 5, yes 5 times it finally gets sent off with a 4 point ASVAB waiver that every one told me was "nothing" and "don't even worry about 4 points" as I’ve made good contacts within the community (only a little over 500 SWCCs navy wide). But some snot nosed little desk jockey in Millington sent my request back with my waiver denied. It hadn't even made it to Coronado!