SITREP- Ambrose26

Commo from our members who are in OSUT, Jump School, RIP, Ranger School, etc.
Ambrose26
Future Soldier / Opt40

SITREP- Ambrose26

Post by Ambrose26 »

Rangers,

I am currently sitting in the USO at the airport waiting to ship to Fort Jackson. To be honest I had a very weird feeling leaving my family, but the longer I sit and wait the more eager I get. Im ready to attack life and give this my all. I failed to complete my entire task list, but if it is alright with the Rangers on This forum, I would like to continue progress on my thread. I will keep you updated on my progress, but I dont know the next time I will get my phone. Finally I would like to say thank you for all of the help you have given me.

-Dylan
13f Opt. 40
Ship Date: 2017/08/01
Ambrose26
Future Soldier / Opt40

Re: SITREP- Ambrose26

Post by Ambrose26 »

Rangers,

I graduated basic training at Ft. Jackson on 10/13/2017. Overall like other Rangers and mentees have said, you are a shark in a sea of minnows. Mentally and physically I was one of the most prepared there. The discipline level was exactly what I expected. The vast majority consisted of shitbags, and everyone seemed to lack initiative and drive. I did however run into other Option 40 canidates, but most didn't even know what RASP was. They all talked about Ranger School, and it seemed the only research they did was watching "Surviving the Cut". There were however a few that knew the basics. Two of them are highly driven 13F's that I have been helping to square away. I'm currently going to help them set up their accounts on ArmyRanger.com. Otherwise basic was easy. The PT seemed extremely light, and there weren't many challenges. It bothered me that the drill sergeants didnt care about discipline, and that after two weeks all hopes of disciplined soldiers went out the window.