Graduate School Paper- Predicting RASP Success

Eight weeks of smoke, training & evaluation.
IntelToad
Ranger

Graduate School Paper- Predicting RASP Success

Post by IntelToad »

This is an interesting paper written by Major Anthony D. Smith, U.S. Army for his Master's Thesis at the U.S. Navy Postgraduate College.

It's some pretty heavy mathematics (I have a Master's Degree in Finance and I thought my head would explode) but there are some interesting nuggets of information in it that you might find useful.

Page 15, for instance, is interesting because it breaks down how many candidates by MOS attempted RASP in 2015 and 2016.

I'm going to give it another read or two and see what else I can find. It would be interesting to get in touch with Major Smith and ask him about his research and findings.

https://calhoun.nps.edu/bitstream/handl ... sequence=1
S-2, HQ 75th, 1985-1987
Jim
Rest In Peace Ranger

Re: Graduate School Paper- Predicting RASP Success

Post by Jim »

Looks interesting. But, this is going to require reading several times.
Ranger Class 13-71
Advisor, VN 66-68 69-70
42d Vn Ranger Battalion 1969-1970
Trainer, El Salvador 86-87
Advisor, Saudi Arabian National Guard 91, 93-94
75th RRA Life Member #867
centermass
Ranger Admin/RIP Ranger

Post by centermass »

Geezus.... I got as far as the Model Development and lost consciousness.

Simple solution - RASP success predictor? Hard fuckin work and dedication.
RS 8-81
Mentor to Rock2/75
US Army Retired 1977-1999

Remember, always be yourself....unless you're Batman. In that case, be Batman.
KW Driver
Ranger/Moderator

Post by KW Driver »

heart. stubbornness. all intangibles to me.

if he can math a good solution, he'll get rich with someone for the predictive skills if he can sell it.
A Co & HHC 3/75 '93-'98.
RS 10-94.

200 meters of green shit next to a river in the desert does not qualify as a "Crescent of Fertility" -me

"The meek shall inherit the earth, one meter wide and two meters long" -Lazarus Long