MMA and being an officer

Hand to Hand, Combative Skills, etc...
hooahbell
Embryo

MMA and being an officer

Post by hooahbell »

Good morning Rangers,

I am almost done with ROTC at University of South Florida and cannot wait to pursue my dreams of finally being a warrior in the greatest Army in the world. I was just wondering when I get commissioned will I still be able to compete in MMA? My cadre in college ROTC strongly urged me to stop training before I went to LDAC but now that I am back I hope they don't look down on it. What are the rules for competing in MMA in the Army? Many people have told me that it would be stupid to fight/train while I was an officer.

My cadre/peers asked me the following questions and I am wondering if you all agree with my views:

"What if you got hurt?" - You can get hurt doing any sport, risks are everywhere

"What if you lost to an enlisted guy in your PLT?" - To me winning is everything, but at the end of the day all that matters is I showed heart and passion. I really don't see why this would matter.

I am wondering what the rules are, could I only fight other officers or people who are not in the Army at all? Will I have time to train? Or am I not allowed to compete at all?

I have been training/ competing in MMA for the past four years on and off. It is one of my favorite past times and I am hoping the Army will let me compete more. I only have 2 fights, both were wins (1 am/ 1 pro). I will have a 10 year contract (due to ADSO for infantry, GRADSO, SLRP) and I am hoping that the Army wont be the end of my fighting career.

thank you for your time.
Silverback
Ranger

Re: MMA and being an officer

Post by Silverback »

What did you branch?
RC 2-87
3-75 84/85, 95/97
"thnks 4 pratn merku!"
hooahbell
Embryo

Post by hooahbell »

Ranger Silverback,