RASP 2 Questions

IF you are a Ranger or are serving/have served in the Armed Forces, please include your dates of service, unit(s) and additional info. Please protect your privacy by not including full names and current personal information.

Moderator: Site Admin

Forum rules
IF you are a Ranger or are serving/have served in the Armed Forces, please include your dates of service, unit(s) and additional info. Please protect your privacy by not including full names and current personal information.
firefox777
Egg

RASP 2 Questions

Post by firefox777 »

Rangers,

I am a prior-service 68W and current 2LT 13A exploring different opportunities in Ranger Regiment, but I am looking to get some initial questions answered if you would lend some assistance. Right now, I am a Troop Fire Support Officer and would like to continue along this path in Ranger Regiment, however I am not Airborne or Ranger qualified at this time. I am not sure if this hurts my chances for being competitive enough IOT actually gain a slot to attend RASP 2 or not. If so, at this point there is not much I can do about getting an Airborne slot, although my duty station does do a Pre-Ranger course. Would it be more beneficial to try and knock out Ranger school before or after RASP 2? Also, if RASP 2 does happen first for me, are Ranger school and Airborne school follow-on courses I would be slotted to attend prior to becoming operational in Regiment? From what I have gathered from my own research, 2LTs are not very sought after for RASP 2 candidates; I am looking at 1LT in November timeframe so I have some time to prepare physically, mentally, etc. and decide whether or not this is something I want to do (and of course whether or not the wife and son are up for it). What are some things I can be doing now to prepare physically and get a leg ahead? Thanks for any advice you all can share
Jim
Rest In Peace Ranger

Re: RASP 2 Questions

Post by Jim »