SITREP: Logan

Commo from our members who are in OSUT, Jump School, RIP, Ranger School, etc.
canthinkofone
Embryo

SITREP: Logan

Post by canthinkofone »

Rangers and Mentee's, I graduated BCT at Ft. Leonard Wood on April 24th and my AIT was located here as well so I started AIT the following week. As an older guy (29) it's been quite an adjustment, to say the least. My advice during basic would be not to actively seek recognition, put your head down, work hard, help your battle buddies and if given leadership, give it your all and do it to the best of your ability, that's all the DS's look and ask for. PT isn't hard but put 110% effort and you will get something out of it. Before basic, make sure your push ups are performed correctly, I thought mine were and my first PT test I had only 37 correct PU's on my first test. Pathetic but a good wake up call.

We were lucky to have a DS who was an excellent runner and it helped me tremendously during basic if you struggle at running, put yourself with the fastest runners and stay with them no matter what. I started in the low 14's and finished my last PT test with a 12:25.

I'm now in week 7 of 18 in AIT. The NCO's are not what I had envisioned before I joined, not very good leaders and some have a hard time doing basic PT. Get used to it and learn how to deal with it. Learn from each one what you would want to do as a leader and what you wouldn't. As for me, I haven't lost sight in becoming a Ranger, in fact it's the one thing that motivates me to deal with a lot of bullshit. I do push ups and sit-ups throughout the day during class I push myself in class and PT. I'm looking to get permission to be able to PT with the Divers in my company.

I'm pushing for a 300PT (this weeks pt score 80pu, 72su and 13:03run 289) score which is extremely close. I'll achieve my goal before the end of AIT and then some.
Make goals and break them, then immediately make news ones to break those.