Ranger officer

Who are you? What is your age/education level? Clearly state the purpose of your visit. Please protect your privacy by not including full names and current personal information.

Moderator: Site Admin

JHpatriot
Egg

Ranger officer

Post by JHpatriot »

Hello rangers,
I am a college sophomore in ROTC and i have a dream of one day becoming a Ranger officer. My PFT's are all class one my ASVAB Was above the required for an officer and I'm double majoring physics and economics. With some miracle I will graduate in 2016 and be commissioned. My question is a double one. First I have glasses. The prescription in relatively low and with them on I have better then 20/20 vision and when using optics I never wear my glasses. Secondly I understand from reading the basics needed to become a ranger officer. My question is how common it is for a 1st lieutenant to become a ranger officer and with that what type of deployment would best assist me in getting a chance to be selected to attended RASP 2. Thank you for your time.
Sincerely
Joshua
centermass
Ranger Admin/RIP Ranger

Re: Ranger officer

Post by centermass »

Welcome to the site.

Your first order of business is to complete ROTC and branch.

Complete BOLC.

Attend and complete BAC.

Then, attend Ranger School and successfully complete the course.

Then, successfully serve (Above average) as a PL.

Depending on how you branch and available competing slots in the Regiment will then determine if you have a shot at RASP.

The more preferred way and method used by many before you has been to acqiure an Opt 40, do your time successfully as an enlisted Ranger, then cross over (Commission) and apply.

There's lots of info covering this subject here on the site. The above is not the end all be all, but a snapshot as to what you are looking at. Good luck.
RS 8-81
Mentor to Rock2/75
US Army Retired 1977-1999

Remember, always be yourself....unless you're Batman. In that case, be Batman.
KW Driver
Ranger/Moderator