Advice from a dropped RASP candidate

Commo from our members who are in OSUT, Jump School, RIP, Ranger School, etc.
MikeG86
Embryo

Advice from a dropped RASP candidate

Post by MikeG86 »

Rangers, past, present and future,
I am returning to this forum to give advice to those either in Battalion or those who wish to serve in the 75th Ranger Regiment.
If I am posting this in the wrong forum please let me know and I will change it, however I figured this is where most of the hopeful Rangers will look.
I graduated OSUT, earning a slot to RASP in week 10. Went on to Airborne School and got to train with the most interesting group of people in the US military. Soldiers, Marines and Sailors from all over the world were in my platoon, and on top of that we got to jump out of planes. It was remarkable.
Then we went down the road to RASP. I had a knee injury since the second week of Airborne but I kept my mouth shut. In week three of RASP I was dropped without a chance to recycle. As an 11B, they may or may not give you a second chance.
Those who are dropped get sent to worldwide, and if you beg and plead, they may let you go back to RASP for a second shot. However for me that was not the case, and I have no one to blame but myself. I had a three day weekend off and broke a rule. I went to Atlanta with some other privates and we got caught. We were then declared AWOL and sent to Fort Sill, Oklahoma and were all discharged within 2 weeks.
Please, for those who wish to become Rangers, do not take the path I took. I was Platoon Guide all through Basic Training, never got into any trouble, 300 PT score and I threw it away by being a moron and breaking simple rules.
The Ranger cadre are the best soldiers in the US Army and they will train you to be the best, but they have standards, and if you fail their standards or break their rules, it will not go unnoticed.
There were guys getting into trouble for the dumbest things, and they all got caught, including myself.