Introduction

This Archive will be used for Future Soldiers and Civilian Introductions 6 months old and older

Moderator: Site Admin

desertfox07
Embryo

Introduction

Post by desertfox07 »

Hello,

My name is Paul and I'm originally from Cleveland, OH but I'm currently in Miami Beach, FL as part of an AmeriCorps program. I'm 23 years old and I graduated college in May of 2006. As my term comes to an end I've begun thinking about what's next.

While I am applying for jobs, part of me yearns for a challenge sitting behind a desk can't provide. Eventually, this desire led me to the recruiters office. I scored a 93 on the ASVAB and after beating information out of those guys I found myself wanting to know more about the Rangers. If I join the army, I want to go balls out the entire time.

I have to be honest, this whole process has had a snowball effect on me. Everyday I have become more and more excited at the thought of serving with the Rangers. If I join the army, I want to be above and beyond a regular soldier and that's why I have been looking at becoming a Ranger.

However, this is a decision that will require more work than just signing a contract. To be a Ranger, that means I have to start working for it yesterday. This is a concern my recruiters didn't really share as they just wanted me to sign and leave immediately. They weren't interested in helping me prepare so I'm going to find a recruiter who will.

I haven't been in running shape since my sophomore year of college when I played football last. I can tell you right now, I would fail in sit-ups and the 5-mile run. I've been lifting so push-ups and pulls-ups aren't a problem for me. I've been running the past week and I'm struggling hardcore, so I need time to get in shape before I leave for basic.

If anyone has a workout plan I could follow I would greatly appreciate it. If not, I'll just keep doing PU, SU, pull ups and run everyday.