Army ROTC Cadet Considering Option 40

Eight weeks of smoke, training & evaluation.
Mike417
Egg

Army ROTC Cadet Considering Option 40

Post by Mike417 »

Rangers,

I am currently a sophomore (MSII) Army ROTC cadet at UMiami. I have a strong distaste for the way the ROTC OML is set up, because it is not subjective based on the prestige of the university (UMiami is ranked 38th in USA -US News Ranking 2011). I had a buddy who received Active Duty for Transportation (wanted Infantry) with 299's on the APFT and a 3.6 GPA. With that, I am worried. I applied to West Point, and will hear back from them late December to early January. I applied because I know that I will have a better opportunity there for training and proving myself, so that I may be branched Active Duty Infantry. If I am not accepted, I have been thinking about enlisting under ONLY an Option 40 contract, as I think I have what it takes to get into Ranger Batt.

A little more about me:

This year, I participated in the Army ROTC Ranger Challenge Competition at Ft. Benning, on the Ranger Course. The competition was 36 straight hours, and encompassed a 9.1 mile ruck "run", stress shoot (M4 and M9), call for fire, Malvesti Obstacle Course, night land navigation (Ranger course), hand grenade assault course, trauma lane, M16 disassembly/re-assembly, and zodiac boat event. I had to compete against the other cadets in my battalion for two months prior (only the top 20 cadets tried out) for a slot on the 9 man team. The competition is modeled after the Army's Best Ranger Competition.

The cadre that was the "coach" for our team was in 3/75, so he smoked us well for the tryouts, and also coached us well. He thinks that I can "negotiate RASP definitely" but that "shit happens, it's a tough course".