Does a waiver disqualify a recruit from the Option 40?

Questions and Answers about obtaining an Option 40 Contract and other routes to serving as a Ranger in the US Army.
G.G
Embryo

Does a waiver disqualify a recruit from the Option 40?

Post by G.G »

Rangers, thank you for taking time to read this. I am currently a sophomore in college so I have over a year until I can even start to talk to a recruiter about DEP'ing but I have a concern which has been eating at me which I hope to receive guidance on. As stated more thoroughly in my introduction thread I was hospitalized once in my life for asthma and this was at age 3. Since my father retired from the USAF and moving at the age of 12 I started seeing a new primary care doctor. Since being with him he has not treated me for asthma, only kept up the prescription for inhalers which I did not use. I was a state-runner up for wrestling in high school and currently compete in college, where our team just won the NCWA national championship. I was researching the Army/asthma topic regarding treatment and found this: "Medical record screening may still be required, depending on the applicant’s medical history. However, in many cases, a signed statement, attached to the medical pre-screening form, stating that the applicant did not have any type of asthma (including exercise induced, or allergic asthma) or treatment for asthma after their 13th birthday will be sufficient." My question lies in the fact that I do not know if these prescriptions are in my current medical records (my mother holds the only copies from my initial incident at age 3). Having said that, if MEPS does not accept my doctor's note (any input on the chance of them accepting this would also be greatly appreciated) saying he has not seen any sign of asthma, of any form, with me since age 12 would they require a waiver? And if so, would I still be able to obtain the Option 40 contract with a waiver for childhood asthma?