Introduction: Alex

This Archive will be used for Future Soldiers and Civilian Introductions 6 months old and older

Moderator: Site Admin

Cayo
Ranger

Introduction: Alex

Post by Cayo »

Hello Rangers,

My name is Alex and I'm 21. I'm currently a Sophomore at Brigham Young University where I have a 3.94 GPA and a potential full tuition scholarship, but have opted to put my schooling on hold in order to serve my country. I have wanted to be a Ranger ever since I was 14, and have read everything I can get my hands on about the Rangers. You're the best, and I want to be part of the best. There is no way I want to get stuck with some "leg" unit.

I have a 3 year 11x contract, but unfortunately no option 40. I ship August 30th so I am afraid it is too late to go knocking down the door of MEPS to re no my contract, but I am going to try it anyway. I scored a 93 on the ASVAB with a GT of 135, and I have nearly maxed out the PT test, so I hope I will have the opportunity to volunteer for the Rangers if worst comes to worst.

Looking at other posts, I know you Rangers will probably tell me next to post my PT scores, so I might as well go ahead and do that one right now.
Push ups: 74
Sit ups: 84
2 Mile Run: 12:45
Pull ups (palms facing inwards) 13

My goals before I ship in 7 weeks are to do 80+ push ups, 90+ sit ups, 2 miler in 12 flat, and 15 pull ups. I am on track to reaching my target goals, since I do PT every day except Sunday's and Thursdays.

I know the advice is to make sure you have the option 40 in your contract, but is there any current or former Ranger here who managed to volunteer and get selected without having an option 40? If so, I would love to get advice from you on how you did it and what I could do besides PT to make that opportunity more available to me.

Thank you so much for the help, and for the service past and present that you have given to our nation.
RASP 04-11
RS 03-12
<2>
madslashers1-2
Ranger

Re: Introduction: Alex

Post by madslashers1-2 »